The North American British Music Studies Association

The North American British Music Studies Association

Nicholas Temperley Student Paper Prize

The Nicholas Temperley Prize is awarded during biennial conferences of the North American British Music Studies Association (NABMSA) for a student paper of particular merit or excellence. The Prize consists of a letter from the President of the Association and a check for $200.


NABMSA members in good standing who are enrolled in a graduate program and have not yet defended their dissertation/thesis at the time of their paper being accepted for presentation at this year’s biennial conference.


A call for submissions will go out with the announcement of each biennial conference.

Award Announcement

The award is announced at the end of each conference.

Award Winners

Ninth Biennial Conference (2020) online via Illinois State University Zoom: Hilary Seraph Donaldson, “Modernism as Parable: Britten’s Settings for Auden’s For the Time Being.” Honorable mention: Stewart Duncan, “The Role of Choral Music in British Diplomacy, 1934-1939: The British Council and National Identity Abroad”

Eighth Biennial Conference (2018) in Logan: Maria Ryan, (University of Pennsylvania), “Performing and Hearing Race in Post-Emancipation Antigua”

Seventh Biennial Conference (2016) in Syracuse: Christy J. Miller, “’If They Can Do It, I Guess That We Can, Too’: Folk and ‘Folk-Styled’ Music as Propaganda in The Martins and the Coys.”

Sixth Biennial Conference (2014) in Las Vegas: Stuart Paul Duncan, “Benjamin Britten’s Metric and Hypermetric Experiments in the 1930s and 1940s.”

Fifth Biennial Conference in Urbana-Champaign, Illinois (2012): Erica Siegel, “‘I’m not making this up, you know!’: The success of Vaughan Williams’s students in America.”

Fourth Biennial Conference in Des Moines, Iowa (2010): Danielle Ward-Griffin, “The Tower and the Lake: Interior and Exterior Spaces in Benjamin Britten’s The Turn of the Screw.”