North American British Music Studies Association

Diana McVeagh Prize for Best Book on British Music

The North American British Music Studies Association (NABMSA) awards the biennial Diana McVeagh Prize for Best Book on British Music. The prize is named in honor of pioneering British music writer, Diana McVeagh, who is the author of books on and musical editions of British composers Edward Elgar and Gerald Finzi, among others. Her books are known for their insightful interpretations of music and its context, and the lyrical quality of her prose.


  • Any book on British music, musical culture, and musical life in Great Britain and elsewhere published between July 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016 – including monographs, books within a series, eBooks, scholarly editions, or collections of essays (if all of the essays within are centered on the study of British music) – is eligible for consideration for the Prize.
  • Candidates must be members of NABMSA in good standing for the prize year.
  • Candidates must submit a copy of the book to be considered postmarked by no later than June 1, 2017 to the Secretary of NABMSA.


Books should be submitted to the Secretary of NABMSA at the following address:

Dr. Danielle Ward-Griffin
Christopher Newport University
Department of Music
1 Avenue of the Arts
Newport News, VA 23606

Award Announcement

The winner of the Prize will be announced at the NABMSA Business Meeting held at the AMS annual conference each November.

Award Winner

The winner of the 2015 Diana McVeagh prize: Musical Creativity in Restoration England by Rebecca Herissone, published by Cambridge University Press.

The winner of the 2013 Diana McVeagh prize: Victory through Harmony: The BBC and Popular Music in World War II, by Christina Baade, published by Oxford University Press.